This past week we have written about the drinking and driving epidemic in Colorado, especially during the summer months. Fortunately, there are several things you can do to prevent drunk driving crashes. For example:
- Call a cab. It might seem a little pricier than taking your car home, but considering the human cost of a drunk driving accident, it is a wise option.
- Use public transportation. Denver’s Regional Transportation District offers several options for returning home after a night out, including bus routes and light rail.
- Buy your own breathalyzer. Wondering if you would pass a breath test? Test yourself with a breathalyzer. Most models cost around $70, but you can find a keychain-sized tester for around $30. Keep in mind that any amount of alcohol can impair your driving.
- Test yourself with a mobile app. Hit the Apple App Store or the Google Play market for a free app that can calculate your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) if you do not have your own breathalyzer. When you enter your weight, what you had to drink and how fast you drank them, the app can estimate your BAC. While these are not 100 percent accurate, they can give you an idea of your current inebriation level.
- Designate a driver. The tried and true method of staying safe. Each time you go out, pick one person to stay sober. If no one is capable of driving, call a friend.
If you notice someone on the road who might be driving under the influence, call *CSP (*277) to alert the Colorado State Patrol. If a drunk driver injured or killed someone you know, give us a call at (866) 377-3800. We might be able to help.
Metier Law Firm, LLC – Denver accident lawyers